Back to top

About the Combat Sports Authority

Constitution and status

The Combat Sports Authority of New South Wales is constituted by the Combat Sports Act 2013.

The Combat Sports Authority is, for the purposes of any Act, a NSW government agency.

The Combat Sports Authority is subject to the direction and control of the Minister in the exercise of its functions, except in relation to the contents of a report or recommendation made by it to the Minister.

The Combat Sports Authority has the following functions in accordance with the Act and Combat Sports Regulation 2014:

  • supervise and regulate professional and amateur combat sport in NSW
  • advise the Minister on matters related to combat sports and the Act, and
  • promote awareness of issues relating to combat sports.


The Authority consists of the following members:

  • a nominee of the Commissioner of Police approved by the Minister,
  • not fewer than 4 and not more than 6 persons appointed by the Minister.

Of the members appointed by the Minister:

  • one is, in and by the instrument of appointment or another instrument made by the Minister, to be appointed as Chairperson of the Authority, and
  • one is to be a medical practitioner, and
  • one is to be a person who is or has been a Judge of a court in Australia or has been an Australian lawyer for at least 7 years.

The current members of the Combat Sports Authority are listed below.

Adam Casselden SC (Chairperson)

  • Barrister – called to the NSW Bar in 1998.
  • Particular expertise in commercial, insurance, coronial and sports law.
  • Appointed as a Judicial Officer by World Rugby for the 2015 Rugby World Cup, 2017 British & Irish Lions tour of NZ and the 2018 Rugby World Cup 7s.
  • Appointed as a Judicial Officer by SANZAAR (South African, New Zealand, Australian and Argentinian Rugby Unions) to Super Rugby and The Rugby Championship.
  • Appointed by various national sporting federations to sit on their Olympic Appeals Tribunals to determine non-selection disputes.
  • Former legal counsel for Australian Rugby Union, Football Federation Australia, NSW Rugby Union, Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Central Coast Mariners FC, Department of Sport & Recreation, various National Sporting Federations, NRL players, athletes and coaches.
  • Appeared as legal counsel in coronial inquests relating to sporting incidents.
  • Member of the Australian and New Zealand Sports Law Association.
  • Appointed a member of the Combat Sports Authority in 2014 and Chairperson in 2017.

Detective Superintendent Deborah Wallace

  • Commander, Criminal Groups Squad, State Crime Command, NSW Police Force.
  • Recipient of the Australian Police Medal in 2011.
  • Holder of Graduate Certificate of Police Management.
  • Extensive policing experience in gang related crime.
  • Appointed a member of the Combat Sports Authority in 2016 representing the Commissioner of Police.

Dr Luke Inman

  • Specialist Sport and Exercise Medicine physician in private practice.
  • Fellow of the Australasian College of Sport and Exercise Physicians (FACSEP).
  • Chief Medical Officer for Manly Warringah Sea Eagles rugby league team.
  • Former Sydney Swans reserve grade doctor.
  • Former NSW Waratahs assistant doctor and player. 
  • Appointed a member of the Combat Sports Authority in 2016.

Catherine Ordway

  • Sports lawyer, administrator, anti-doping and integrity expert.
  • Senior Consultant in sports law at Snedden Hall & Gallop (SHG) Lawyers, Canberra.
  • Senior Fellow at the University of Melbourne (Masters of Sports Law programme).
  • Completed projects to the Budapest 2024 Olympic Games Bid and on the doping control program for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.
  • Assisted sports as diverse as archery, athletics, baseball, cricket, cycling, football, golf, rowing, softball and swimming in a variety of selection, anti-doping and code of conduct disputes.
  • Anti-doping tribunal member of the International Cricket Council, the World Baseball-Softball Confederation, SportAccord and the West Indies Cricket Board.
  • Former IAAF Doping Control and Medical Delegate for Australia.
  • Member of the inaugural Ethics & Integrity panel for Triathlon Australia.
  • Appointed a member of the Combat Sports Authority in 2017.

Darren Kane

  • Solicitor of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, Solicitor of the High Court of Australia and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of England and Wales.
  • Extensive experience in sports, corporate, employment, intellectual property and commercial law; commercial litigation and dispute resolution.
  • Acts for and advises international, continental, national and state sports governing bodies including in sports including rugby league, water polo, archery, fencing, baseball, swimming, volleyball, tennis, basketball, ice skating and football.
  • Acts for and advises professional sporting franchises and a leading Australian elite sports institute.
  • Acted for and advised a number of clients in connection with the joint Australian Crime Commission / Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority investigations into anti-doping and organised crime in Australian sport.
  • Acted and appeared for numerous international and national level athletes, coaches, trainers and officials from sports including swimming, diving, cricket, track & field athletics, rugby league, football, modern pentathlon, water polo, thoroughbred racing and harness racing.
  • Sports and Sports Law Columnist for the Sydney Morning Herald and related Fairfax Media publications (2013 – ongoing).
  • Member, Legal Committee: Fédération International de Natation (FINA) (2017 – 2021).
  • Appointed Director: New South Wales Junior Rugby Leagues’ Association (2015 – ongoing).
  • Secretary and Public Officer: The Carbine Club of New South Wales (2016 – ongoing).
  • Appointed a member of the Combat Sports Authority in 2017.

Justin Hayes

  • General Manager, Programs & Activities, Police Citizens Youth Clubs NSW Ltd (PCYC).
  • Holds a Post-Graduate Certificate in Business Management (Sport) and is a qualified sports administrator.
  • Experience in the development and management of boxing across the NSW PCYC network.
  • Current Director, National Technical Commission, Gymnastics Australia.
  • Former President of Boxing Australia NSW.
  • Appointed a member of the Combat Sports Authority in 2017.